navigate
index
archives
me
about
profile
favorites
buddylist

CURRENT MOON
moon phases

Domestication - 2008-02-28
Logical? - 2008-02-27
A new start.... - 2008-02-23
Back from vacation - 2007-10-02
Memorial Day & not being around - 2007-06-25
Ophelia's Tomb

Memorial Day & not being around (2007-06-25 - 10:03 p.m.)

Quick update, on the eve of Memorial day I woke up feeling very sick. My symptems included:

* face pain (I have some sort of infection in my bone but it is not a sinus infection)
* chest tightness (I can not describe this pain, crushing / debilitating are not good enough)
* heart racing like a son-of-a-bitch
* sweating badly (in a cold AC filled room)
* not being able to breathe (breath in gasps and couldn't talk well)
* hands trembling badly

This WOKE me up. I as fully ASLEEP and sleeping stright and I was woken up by this.

So, I go to the hospital, where they ADMIT my ass (the ER never admits me, I can normally be out of there and back to where-ever in a few hours) but NO not this time, I need tests.

ALL OF WHICH COME BACK FINE! (we are talking 5 blood tests, urine tests, pregnancy test, protine tests, the friggen works, I stopped counting at 11 little bottles of blood being taken).

Here is the clincher - they gave me Nitrogliceren (that can't be the way it's spelled) and it WORKED. Chest not tight, blood pressure dropped down WAY down and stayed in a range. In fact it crashed down so hard they put the little arms up on the bed to keep me from falling off of it. My face went white and I started shaking really hard, then I got really really cold and then BAM fine as could be.

So, I was able to talk myself into a release because it was a holiday and I promised to come back the next day for the stress test (plus if I had any minor tinge of chest pain I was to return). Bad news - no Huey Lewis concert (I was looking forward to that) but gave it up and accepted the loss of money.

If you are wondering why I wanted a release, being alone in a hospital scared me. I don't want to be by myself, I wanted to be with my family at home resting. I had work to do a concert to go see. Suddenly, I wasn't in control and it scared me. The few times I was by myself between parental units watching over me and Zap on his way in to stick around for a bit I cried, Zap called in during one of those times and was very sweet. But still, he wasnt there yet and I felt abandoned and alone. Irrational probably, but not having anything to eat or drink (and no caffine) for 12 hours and not feeling my best, I was entitled I tell you.

The next day I still had to rush into work and approve timesheets so people would get paid and I did that on the way to get the stress test done. The one that they place did not have me on the schedule for (well the back did, but not the front). I got there early (yeah) at 7:15am because I wanted to find it. It took till 8:15 to get me checked in with an agreement that I would pay 20% because my insurance company was only going to pay 80% (they wanted me to go to another lab that probably couldn't see me that day and I just said, "my doctor wanted me here. I'll stay and pay it, bill me.") They took me back, I left that place at NOON! With orders to just rest and be very calm and not to do anything related to exersise until I see my doctor (see, scare the girl that we just had sitting around waiting).

Stress test is done, go back to my regular doctor on Friday, still taking things slow and easy, still wondering what the hell happened. But I am reading journals just not doing much updating or anything.

Such is my life right now. ;-)

Okay, so I realized I have not posted an update to all the Memorial Day going's on's. So I am going to break it down here quick and dirty like - heh!

1) Stress test results were okay, no real heart damnage, however that does not help them understand why the Nitro helped me per hospital.
2) Per primary care Dr. The hosital staff scared me TOO much! She did not like that they told me not to walk or do anything strenous (I hate spelling) until I saw her (which took over a week and they knew that and I gained a few pounds along the way because all I was doing was sitting around the house).
3) Nutra-system is over. WAY too much SALT in everything (funny, I was adding salt because it has no flavor). Per Dr. I need to control my food intake on regular food because even if I lose the weight on Nutra-system when I get off it, it's going to come back. They don't teach healthy eating for a lifetime. Which is true.
4) I need to walk (which I have been doing) SMALL amounts per day until I build up my muscles and such. When asked if I should walk even if my chest gets tight (what the hospital told me not to do) she said YES! "You're out of shape if you stop the minute you get out of breath your not pushing your endorance. You will know when to stop and it's before you colapse. Doing nothing will not change anything.
5) My face / Jaw pain. I need to see an oral surgen. They think it's TMJ but are not positve and she can not treat that as effectively as an oral surgen could. Mainly because it effects my ear, jaw and cheek bones. So I go to see him on the 28th. It took some time to get in to see him, but it's the one she really wanted me to see and they take my insurance for both medical and dental. While I am there I am going to ask about the wisdom tooth that needs to be removed that a regular dentist wont touch. The other good thing about him, he does hostial grade IV sedation. So if I choose the option it's not the pills that got me so sick last time that didn't work.
6) She was still getting all the files from the hospital which included ALL the friggen lab work (she wanted blood and I told her they took over 11 bottles couldn't she check with the hospital first - she agreed). But I go back to see her July 9th for another BP check up and to see how I am progressing over all.

The intersting thing was that she does not want me on Nitro at all. While she understands that it worked and the hospital did the right thing giving it to me - I shouldn't have needed it. Sometime's bodies do odd things and she told me to start accepting that I might not understand WHY this happened, but that every test that should show something major had been done and I was checking out okay. She did tell me several times to remember "You're young for this stuff, loose the weight, you should loose most of these problems, if not we do the tests again and see if we see something different."

It's not the best answer in the world, I'm not thrilled with it. But I am at least happy the test results were good enough that no one is sticking me in a hospital again. And I am walking 10 minutes a day at a minimum 4 to 5 times a week. Cutting back on food intake (but eating what I like).

Now if my Jaw would just stop hurting!!!



Music / TV: nope, not a thing on right now.
Current Book: Egyption Book of the Dead
Feeling: Tired and in pain

"Two-buck cover. Dollar imports after midnight."
From the battlements....

last - next

contact
notes
email
guestbook
Opheliafic Notify
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


br/>
thanks
dland
RP Designs
links
Ophelia's Live Journal
Ophelia's Fan Journal
Destinies Entwined
The Book of the Dead
NaNoWriMo


The WeatherPixie